LilySlim Weight loss tickers

Thursday, June 9, 2011

award :)

Rules of the Award
*Thank the person who gave you this award, and link back to them in your post.
*Tell us 10 things about yourself.
*Nominate your bloggers.
*Contact these bloggers, and let them know they received this award.

Thanks to Manda Panda and Rachel for nominating me.

1. I grew up on the Gulf Coast of Texas, near Corpus Christi.

2.  Austin, TX is my favorite place.

3.  I started working (a real W-2 job!) when I was in 6th grade.

4.  Here's a partial list of jobs since age 12:

* babysitting in the church nursery
* renting out surfboards & selling beach parking permits
*selling books in a small mom & pop shop near the beach
* making pizza at Domino's
* writing, designing, and selling advertising for The Daily Texan (my undergrad newspaper)
* teaching science to hormonal teenagers in TX and CO
* right now I'm an occupational therapist, I love what I do and, while it's not the most lucrative career I could have chosen, it's one of the most rewarding
* actually right now I'm a SAHM, but I'll go back to working next year.  I miss it.

5.  Working at Domino's was my least favorite job but it came super handy for bribing the security guard at my off-campus dorm in college.  He accepted free pizzas to let me into my dorm after curfew.  That was the least of my infractions, however, and he turned a blind eye to things of a much more serious nature, but, since I used to be a teacher, and there's a slight risk a former student could stumble across my blog, so I will not divulge what kind of infractions those were.  You'd think that a retired NYC police officer would have higher standards for pizza, but, I guess some men aren't picky.  Thanks Steve. :)  Wherever you are.

6.  I've never traveled abroad.  Sure, I've crossed the border into Mexico and Cananda...and I've visited at least 75% of states in the U.S.A.  But I still haven't crossed an ocean.  My younger brother was stationed in Germany when I was in college.  My family left me behind to go visit him because I didn't have the money to pay for my own flight.  Hey, I was 20, I could barely afford to put myself through school.  But that's okay.  I'm over it.  Or am I?  

7.  I'm addicted to MAC cosmetics and love makeup.

8.  I love crafts.  Drawing, painting, scrapbooking, knitting, etc.

9.  I wish I were a better cook.

10.  My husband and I met at a restaurant in the summer of 1997 in Port Aransas, TX.  He was a cook; I worked behind the bar and cleaned tables.

And next, I nominate Erica.


  1. Congrats on the award! Much deserved.

    My brother worked for Pizza Hut...I lived off that stuff for years. I WANT to be good at crafts but I'm just not artsy enough. I bought some scrapbooking stuff to try to start a hobby but I haven't even opened it up yet. *sigh*

  2. 6ft6 actually!! Lol good guess!

    I have tiny hands but they look like a childs next to his.
    I got my first job when I was about 12. I was an assistant in a nursery. I worked every summer after that! I loved it. I never worked for pizza places. I did work at a lot of high end resturants when I was in college. They sometimes were just as bad me thinks!

    I love to craft!

  3. Damn, I am behind on my blogging and just nominated you for this. So please disregard the double nomination:)